Jyotish Astrology
Also referred to as Vedic or Hindu Astrology
An Introduction to Jyotish Astrology
by Dinesh R. Thakkar

   Jyotish means Science of Light. 
Jyotish is also called the Ved Chaksor the Eyes of the Vedas. 

It is believed to be one of the 2 sciences given to 
humans by the Gods to help their way through life. 

   A person who is learned in Jyotish is called a Jyotishi.

   The table below gives the English names and Jyotish Equivalents 
   of theSigns, which are called Rasi.

      No.  Signs       Rasi
      01. Aries            Mesha
      02. Taurus           Rishaba
      03. Gemini           Mithuna
      04. Cancer           Kataka
      05. Leo              Simha
      06. Virgo            Kanya
      07. Libra            Thula
      08. Scorpio          Vrichika
      09. Sagittarius      Dhanus
      10. Capricorn        Makara
      11. Aquarius         Kumbha
      12. Pisces           Meena 

   The table below give the equivalent names of the Planets, which is
   called Grahas

      No. Planets   Grahas
      01. Sun            Ravi
      02. Moon           Chandra
      03. Mercury        Budha
      04. Venus          Sukra
      05. Mars           Mangal
      06. Jupiter        Guru
      07. Saturn         Sani
      08. Dragon's Head  Rahu
      09. Dragon's Tail  Ketu 

   There are 9 planets used in Natal branch of Jyotish. This branch of
   Jyotish is referred to Jataka. 

   Rahu and Ketu are given the status of Planets in Jyotish. 

   Besides the 12 Rasis which are used in Jyotish, we have 27 Nakshatras.
   Nakshatra does not have an equivalent word in English, but can be
   roughly translated into Constellations. Each Nakshatra spans over 13
   Degrees 20 Minutes of the Arc.

   These 27 Nakshatras are ruled by the 9 Grahas. 
   Each Graha rules over 3 Nakshatras. 

                         The 27 Nakshatras                          Owner
   01. Aswini           10. Magha            19. Moola            - Kethu
   02. Bharani          11. Purvaphalgun     20. Purvashada       - Venus
   03. Kritika          12. Uthraphalgun     21. Uthrashada       - Sun
   04. Rohini           13. Hastha           22. Sravana          - Moon
   05. Mrigasirisha     14. Chitra           23. Danishta         - Mars
   06. Ardhara          15. Swathi           24. Sathabishek      - Rahu
   07. Punarvasu        16. Visakha          25. Purubhadra Pada  -
   Jupiter 08. Pushya           17. Anuradha         26. Uthrabhadra Pada
   - Saturn 09. Aslesha          18. Jyeshta          27. Revathi 
   - Mercury 

   Each Nakshatra is divied into 4 parts, each having a span of 3 Degree  20 Minutes. 

   One of basic tools for predicting and timing events, in Jyotish, there
   are Dasa. The most popular being Vimshottari Dasa. It has a span of 120
   years. Vimshottari Dasa is also referred as Udu Dasa. It is calculated
   using the position of Chandra (Moon) in a Nakshatra. 

   Along with the Dasa, transits are also given important. 
   Transits are known as Gochar in Jyotish. 

   Another important tools used by a Jyotishi, are the Yogas. Yogas are
   planetary combination. For example, I will try to describe a very basic
   Subha (Benefic) Yoga - Gajakesari Yoga. The rule goes as - 'When
   Jupiter is in an angle from the Lagna (Ascendant) or Chandra (Moon),
   avoiding at the same time Debilition, Combution and inimical Rasis,
   Gajakesari Yoga is caused.' The result of a Gajakesari Yoga are that
   the native will be wealthy, intelligent endowed with many virtues. 

   There are hundreds of such Yogas in Jyotish.

   There are many totals, which are very mathematical intensive, for
   calculating strengths and other factors. There are many mathematical
   tools and methodologies for predicting results or timing events. 

   Now to something which is important to know. 

   It uses the Fixed Zodiac or the zodiac is Sidereal. The Fixed Zodiac is
   also called Nirayana. The moveable Zodiac as used in West is known as
   the Sayana Zodiac. The difference between the 2 zodiac is a value
   called the Ayanamsa. It is the precession of the Zodiac. This is a
   value which approximates to 1 Degree in 72 years. It's movement is
   backward. So to get the Fixed Zodiac, we substract the Ayanamsa value,
   from the Moveable Zodiac. 

   Now, here we encounter an area of Jyotish which is very controversial
   and very important. The importance to know the correct value of the
   Ayanamsa cannot be under-estimated. But the problem lies here because
   many differ on the 2 factors which decide the value of the Aynamsa
   value. The 1st factor is the year when the 2 Zodiac were together. The
   2nd factor is rate of precession of the Zodiac. 

   The most commonly value of Ayanamsa used is known as Chaitra Paksha
   Ayanamsa. It is also referred as the Lahiri Ayanamsa. There are many
   popular values of the Ayanamsa, like Dr. B.V.Raman's Ayanamsa, K.P.
   Ayanamsa, Yukteswara's Ayanamsa, etc. 

   Jyotish has many branches. Jataka means Natal. Muhurtha means
   Electional. Varshphal means Yearly Prediction, but is very similar to
   Solar Return. Nastha Jataka is a branch which deals with Rectification.
   Many more ......

   A very unique branch of Jyotish is Remedial Measure. This branch
   deals with recommending Remedial Measure for certain factors in the
   Horoscope or to rectify a problem in life or to avoid a particular
   result from occuring. Remedial measures are suggested in various ways,
   could be through prays, or gems or Mantras or many other things.

   What I have tried to present here is the very very basic of Jyotish
   terms. Jyotish is vast and rich. There are many methods and different
   tools, approaches and methods available under Jyotish to achieve the
   best results. Even a life time is less to learn all of them. 

   I hope your journey to learn Jyotish is fruitful and self-satisfying. 

(c) 1999 Copyright, Dinesh R. Thakkar, 
Mumbai - 400 031, Maharashtra,
    All Rights are reserved by the Author.

 Sun, 17 Jan 1999 
 Dinesh    Email:  drt@giasbm01.vsnl.net.in

Midpoints 101  Main Index 
Uranian Astrology  Main Index  
  Email Steve - creator of these sites